Date & Location:

October 14, 2014
6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Taj Boston

The Honoree: Governor Deval Patrick

"By nominating increasing numbers of women and minorities for state court judgeships, Governor Patrick has truly changed the legal landscape to more adequately reflect the community at large. Through these appointments, he has set precedents that will have a lasting impact on the delivery of justice across Massachusetts. We are deeply grateful for these efforts, and congratulate the Governor on the significant achievements in diversity that he has achieved while serving the Commonwealth." 
- BBA President-Elect Julia Huston.

The Boston Bar Association is delighted to honor Governor Deval Patrick with its fifth annual Beacon Award for Diversity & Inclusion, in celebration of his groundbreaking work in creating a more diverse judiciary in the state of Massachusetts. 

Governor Patrick appointed the first African American Chief Justice, African American female Justice, Asian American Justice, and openly gay Justice on the Supreme Judicial Court; the first Native American District Court Judge; and the first South Asian Superior Court Justice. To date, the Governor has filled 164 judicial openings during his two terms in office, which represents 40% of the judiciary. Nearly half of those judges were female, and one fifth represented a minority group.  

He has been a leader in the state and in the nation in creating a judiciary that better reflects the diversity in our Commonwealth.  



Since 2010, the Beacon Award has brought together the legal community to celebrate, inspire and learn from those who have made a true and measurable difference.  The Beacon Award event continues to remain free to attend, thanks to the generous contributions of our sponsors. Sponsorships help fund a wide range of initiatives that are part of a comprehensive approach to creating a more diverse and inclusive legal community.  To learn more about our work, click here.

Untitled Document

Thank You to our 2014 Sponsors

Champions of Diversity

Leaders in Diversity
Biogen Idec Inc.
Staples, Inc.

Partners in Diversity
Foley Hoag LLP
Krokidas & Bluestein LLP

Supporters of Diversity
Bingham McCutchen LLP


Contact Erica Southerland, Events Coordinator, at (617) 778-1930 or