Thursday, May 12th
Westin Boston Waterfront
425 Summer St
5:30PM Reception, 7:00 Dinner & Program
Purchase Tickets
Sponsorship Opportunities


The BBA Law Day Dinner is the largest annual bench bar event in Massachusetts. Join friends, colleagues, judges, and legislators as we come together to celebrate significant contributions to our profession, our justice system and our city.

"On this Law Day, then, we honor not only the principle of the rule of law, but also those judges, legislators, lawyers and law-abiding citizens who actively work to preserve our liberties under law."

--President Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1958

Keynote Speaker

Rebecca Love Kourlis, Executive Director of the Institute for the Advancement of the American Legal System (IAALS) at the University of Denver and Colorado Supreme Court justice, has dedicated her career to ensuring that the American legal system provides justice for all.

Throughout her years of experience in a firm, in her own small practice, as a trial court judge and as a Colorado Supreme Court justice, Kourlis has remained committed to improving our justice system. In 2006, she stepped down from the bench to create IAALS. In the last ten years, IAALS has become a widely-recognized, national, independent research center working on solutions to some of the most important issues facing the legal profession.

Widespread change is not made overnight, and Kourlis’s work at IAALS also centers around shaping the next generation of lawyers through education. A consortium of 33 law schools around the country, including Boston College Law School, Northeastern University School of Law, and Suffolk University Law School, have joined IAALS in an ongoing discussion about the best ways to prepare lawyers to serve clients in the real world.

This mission aligns closely with that of BBA President Lisa Arrowood, who has dedicated much of her time and effort this year to providing programs to new lawyers to help them build their practical experience.

Please join is as we welcome Justice Kourlis as our keynote speaker for the Law Day Dinner on May 12th! For more information on reserving tickets or tables, or for sponsorship opportunities, contact Erica Southerland at or 617.778.1930.


John G. Brooks Legal Services Award
This award was established to recognize professional legal services attorneys for their outstanding work on behalf of indigent clients in the greater Boston area.

Prof. Nagin is the Vice Dean for Experiential and Clinical Education and serves as the Faculty Director of the WilmerHale Legal Services Center & Veterans Legal Clinic at Harvard Law School. He founded the Veterans Legal Clinic where students gain hands-on experience while representing veterans and the families. Most recently he spearheaded the creation of the Low Income Tax Clinic funded in part by the BBF. Read More.

BBA President's Award

The Massachusetts Specialty Courts will be presented with the 2016 President's Award at the BBA's Law Day Dinner on May 12th. At the event, judges from all four courts will accept the award on behalf of the Specialty Court teams. Specialty Courts - Drug Court, Homeless Court, Mental Health Court and Veterans Treatment Court - are problem-solving court sessions which provide supervised probation and mandated treatment for issues underlying criminal behavior, such as substance abuse, homelessness, or mental health disorders. Read More.

The Honorable Margot Botsford will be honored with the BBA President’s Award due to her many contributions to the judiciary and legal profession over the course of nearly three decades on the bench. In addition to her service on the Superior Court and Supreme Judicial Court, Justice Botsford currently co-chairs the Committee to Examine the Uniform Bar Examination and has spearheaded many efforts to increase access to justice for the underserved and supported programs designed to help young people get the most out of their education.  Read More.

Thurgood Marshall Award
The Thurgood Marshall award was established to recognize attorneys in private practice in greater Boston whose extraordinary efforts have enhanced the human dignity of others through improving or delivering civil or criminal legal services to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts’s low-income population.

The Boston Bar Association will present this year’s Thurgood Marshall Award to Jack Regan of WilmerHale for his work to improve access to justice for veterans and other vulnerable populations. Mr. Regan has been practicing for nearly four decades, and during that time, he has shown a deep commitment to delivering pro bono services to veterans, active duty military personnel, and their families. Read More.

Sponsorships & Tickets

Sponsorship packages provide the opportunity to attend the event while offering a highly effective way of presenting your message to over 1,300 members of the Boston legal and business communities

Sponsorship Opportunities

Please contact Erica Southerland or call (617) 778-1930 for questions about sponsorship packages.