Media Advisory - Adams Pro Bono Awards

What: Supreme Judicial Court Justice Francis X. Spina will present the tenth annual John Adams Pro Bono Publico Awards to three recipients in recognition of distinguished service and outstanding commitment in providing legal services for the poor and disadvantaged. The prestigious awards are named in honor of Attorneys John Adams and John Quincy Adams. This year the Supreme Judicial Court's Standing Committee on Pro Bono Legal Services has selected the following recipients to receive the awards:

Kerry Elizabeth Doyle, Boston, whose pro bono advocacy on behalf of immigrant detainees challenging a federal immigration detention policy resulted in a favorable ruling;

Donal Eoin Reilly, East Boston, for his dedication over the past 15 years to serving the needs of hundreds of poor and disadvantaged immigrants by collaborating with the Irish Immigration Center to establish and staff a monthly legal services clinic;

Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C., Boston, for its work on behalf of low-income residents of Mississippi after Hurricane Katrina, most notably obtaining a $132 million financial settlement for victims whose homes had been destroyed by the storm.

Certificates will also be presented to the 18 lawyers and law firms that participated in the Court's newly established Pro Bono Recognition Program.

The Supreme Judicial Court's Standing Committee on Pro Bono Legal Services works to promote volunteer legal work in Massachusetts to help people of limited means in need of legal representation, in accordance with SJC Rule 6.1.
When: Wednesday, October 26, 2011, 4:00 p.m.
Where: John Adams Courthouse, Courtroom 1, One Pemberton Square, Boston